Book Review: The Condition by Jennifer Haigh

I finished another book!  YAY!

Not-so-secret fact about me: I love, love, love to read.  I try to fit it in once a day – you know, when I’m not working, changing a diaper, cooking dinner, laundry, etc.  You get my drift.

I fell in love with Jennifer Haigh’s writing a few years ago after reading Mrs. Kimble.  That book touched me on so many levels.  (A DEFINITE must-read!)  So when I saw The Condition on a library shelf, I just had to check it out.

The Condition was pretty good – although nowhere near the greatness of Kimble.  Still, worth a read…3/4 of the way it gets REALLY good!

I won’t ever spoil an ending in one of my reviews, but I’ll give you just enough info for you to determine if it’s something you’d like to read.

The Condition is an interwoven tale of the McKotch family – a family so emotionally distant from each other and painfully unable to communicate.  The book begins with the family coming together for their annual retreat to their Cape Cod summer home.  From the onset, it is clear that Frank and Paulette McKotch’s marriage will likely not last through the summer.  Frank, a scientist who spends too much time in the lab, and his pedigreed wife, Paulette, have reached the end of their ropes with one another.   Fast forward twenty years and the McKotches are, indeed, divorced.  Their three children, Billy, Gwen, and Scott have grown equally distant.

The book takes its name from the condition a then, pre-teen Gwen is diagnosed with – Turner’s syndrome.  However, surprisingly, the book is not a story of the family dealing with issues surrounding her condition.  Instead, Haigh explores the drama surrounding this fractured family expertly.

All in all, I’d rate this book a 3.5 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

