About Baby B

When I first found out I was pregnant I was estatic, elated, sooooo happy!  Immediately I had visions of baby dresses, pigtails and dolls.  My daughter would soon be eleven so it had been a LONG time since I had a little peanut growing inside of me.

All doctor appointments went well and I couldn’t wait for the first images of my little girl.

Then, I heard those words.  “Congratulations!  You’re having a boy!”

Hold up.  A what?!?!  NOOOOOOO!  That can’t be right.  Check again, I’m having a girl. 

Nope.  Absolutely not.  Most definitely a boy.  In that moment all my dreams of finally having another little girl to play dress-up with were over.  In an instant.  I’m not proud to say that I was disappointed…a little.

No baby dresses.  No pigtails.  No dolls.

Instead, those images were replaced with baseballs, footballs, and blue.  Lots of blue.

What was I going to do?  I don’t know the first thing about sports.  I’m going to have to run?  Dribble a ball?  What was I going to do with a boy?

Then, my boy came.  Baby B.  Cutest. Baby. Ever.

 

Immediately, I was in love.  I wanted to eat his chubby cheeks.  He was beautiful.  Everything I never knew I always wanted.

Now, at five months (he will be on Wednesday) he is my world.  I love his screeches sounds, his face, his everything.  The way he looks at me with those adorable still-grey eyes that tell me that he loves me right back.  Baby B.  My son.

AND…he even looks like me!

 

When he was born I was convinced that I was merely an incubator…both of my kids resemble their fathers.  I was only necessary to bake ‘em for 9 months, I thought.  Then my dad sent me that photo and, FINALLY, I can see ME in Baby B.

Now I know exactly what I will do as he gets older.

Love him.  Always.

That’s all a child really needs anyway.

2 thoughts on “About Baby B

  1. Congratulations on your beautiful baby boy! I’m sure you will always find the right activities and games to play with him throughout the years, even if you are not into sports. Those impromptu games that are made up as you go along are always the most fun anyway.

    It must be so exciting having a new baby again after so many years. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

