Weekend Wrap-Up: I Am Sick & Tired of Weekends!

Yes, you read it right…sick & tired. Uh-huh!

Weekends are exhausting…more so than my 9-5.  Constantly on the go.  Whether it’s running errands, attending an activity, or just doing housework – sometimes I can’t wait to get back to the office on Monday morning.

Honestly, I don’t know how you stay-at-home moms do it.  On the weekends kids have to be accounted for, fed, bathed, and entertained – all while doing whatever else needs to be done that weekend.  I’m exhausted just thinking about it.

Take this weekend for example:

Friday night – my brother and family stop by for dinner (and, yes, I cooked too) followed by a visit from my BFF and her family.  When did I rest?  I didn’t.

Saturday – up at 7am with Baby B.  Morning spent doing laundry, cleaning up the kitchen, and other housework/wifey/mommy duties.  Then – time to get ready for dinner to celebrate my sister’s birthday with family. (Olive Garden – YUM!)  But first, made a stop at BuyBuyBaby for some needed items.  By the time I got home, I was so spent that I fell asleep within an hour of being home.  Fed Baby and knocked out.  On the couch.  With Baby B in his swing. Ugh.  Resting? Not a chance.

Sunday – up at 7:30 with Baby B.  Errands and Costco and Target (had to pick up gift).   Back home to Baby. Fed, bathed, dressed and out the door for a birthday party.  More housework then time for bed. Time to relax? Barely.

See what I mean?  Tired.  Burned-out.  Just plain pooped.

Come Monday morning, I get to drive to the office and sit.  Eight hours of blissful rest.  No matter how busy my day is at work, it’s never as busy as my weekends.  And – I know what you’re thinking – spending time with family is so much more rewarding, stop making so many plans, yadda, yadda, yadda.  I know all this.  But I just have a busy life.  It is what it is.

But, that’s it!  No more jam-packed weekends!  A quick look at my calendar tells me I have no plans this weekend.  YESSS!  Think it’ll happen?  We’ll see…

I did manage to take this priceless pic at the birthday party though…my favorite boys.  Two peas in a pod. 

Leave a Reply

