Peeved Out: Yu Can Writ 2

Can you understand this? 

skool sukked i waz soo tired all day i mean y do ppl wanna go ta skool so bad i get to see mii frayndz outta skool lol!!!

 No?  How about this one?

makinggg many different dilicious cookies wt miii grama nd mii fraynd also doinqq sme last minute gift wrapping still gots lots 2 do nd x-mas Eve is 2marroe yilkkerz i thnk i can make it cross urr fingaz…!!!!

Still having a hard time?  Here’s one more:

Hellow mommy Buyyyy sum cerealllll peez cinimon tost crunch fruuut luupps butter nd choc frosteed flaks peez

 These are actual FB posts and text messages I’ve received from my daughter.  My almost 12-year-old daughter.  Straight-A student daughter.  Yeah, her.

You want to talk pet peeves?  There’s mine.  Right there.

Don’t get me wrong…she knows how to spell.  She certainly didn’t receive straight-A’s with that kind of grammar!  But she says that’s how kids communicate now.  Unbelieveable!  Well, I’ve finally learned of a way to combat her “wrtng sklllzz” by simply not replying to anything written improperly.  Just call me the Grammar Police!  Hmpf!

So, maybe my peeve has more to do with this generation of kids growing up than my daughter’s disdain for proper English.  Ummm, nah…it’s both.  Makes me so angry.  This can’t be the future of our language.

So, Miss-Y – it’s time you cracked open the dictionary, start loving those vowels, and show your “friends” the real way we use the English language.

Or you, my dear, will be getting a can of alphabet soup for your birthday.

 I wrote this post for Mama Kat’s Writers Workshop in response to Prompt #1: One pet peeve that shouldn’t drive you crazy, but does.  It drives me NUTS!
10 thoughts on “Peeved Out: Yu Can Writ 2

  1. The sad part of all this is that teachers are finding that text-speak is creeping into their students’ writing. And writing is one skill that needs to be practiced. Kids who don’t practice writing correctly (even in their informal postings to friends) will be at a disadvantage in school and work.

  2. That reminds me of being a kid and talking pig latin to throw the old people, parents and such, off. Gosh it was fun seeing them try so hard to get our language.

    Visiting from Mama Kat’s

  3. Hee hee! I’ll keep this in mind as my kids get older. I will say, however, that having been forced to text on my husband’s iPhone (I don’t have a text-able phone; in fact, I have only an emergency phone, and in fact, we let the coverage lapse to try to head off the bill collectors and spam phone calls who call me more often than the schools and sitters for whose benefit we got it)…having had to text on my husband’s iPhone, I can understand why many mistakes are made. And why people tolerate this form of “communication,” frankly, is beyond me.

  4. I almost hate to say this, but I understood each one of those texts… of course I also have a 12 year old daughter. lol. She is also a very good student, but you couldn’t tell it by her text message grammar.

Leave a Reply

