Book Review: Fragile by Lisa Unger

I finally finished another book!  Well, actually…I finished two books.  And I finished he first one last weekend.  But, whatever, I just haven’t had the time to write.  So now I’ve made myself comfy, poured myself a drink, and I’m ready to write.

Fragile by Lisa Unger is a good book.  A really good book.  I was surprised at how much I liked it.  The book focuses on a missing girl that takes place in a small town outside of New York City and the families whose lives are intertwined by this event, as well as their secrets from the past.  This book explores familial, emotional relationships spanning generations in the town revealing a complex, well-written mystery/contemporary fiction novel.  Fragile is a multi-faceted novel, expertly telling the tale of two simultaneous stories, separated only by time.

The characters in Fragile are surprisingly full of depth and relatable.  My favorite character, Maggie, is a do-it-all kind of mom – psychiatrist by day, nurturing mom and supportive wife by night.  Her steadfast love for her son and her tireless search for the truth really held this novel together for me.

Here is one of my favorite lines from the book (pg. 219):

“The thing is, I wanted to be a better man than my father, a better father than he was.  I just never knew how.  You can’t build a house without the right tools, you know.”

Now ain’t that the truth! 

I’d rate this book a 4 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

